KPT5 and XP

Comments and discussions about 8bf plugins which can be use in various applications like Photoshop, Paint Shop Pro or Photo-Paint
Icprncss
Plugin Novice
Plugin Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 7:07 pm
Location: NY, NY USA

KPT5 and XP

Postby Icprncss » Thu Mar 18, 2004 4:15 pm

I recently installed the upgrade to XP and have found that KPT5 will not work in Photoshop, PSP, Photopaint, or PI. Prior to the upgrade, I had no trouble with it.

Has anyone else encountered this problem? Any idea why this is happening and what can be done to correct it?

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

okkel

Postby okkel » Sun Mar 28, 2004 2:45 pm

for future reference... windows doesn't like being upgraded. It prefers you spend hours backing up all your files and installing a fresh copy to a newly formatted drive.... unless you like endless problems.

ialora
Plugin Novice
Plugin Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2003 2:23 am

Postby ialora » Wed Mar 31, 2004 7:21 pm

I upgraded 3 computers to XP Pro last year. All my KPT filters work fine including KPT5. Although, I think I had to re-enter the serial#'s for some of my filters the first time I used them. I don't use PS, but I seem to recall there was a patch for PS 6 or 7 that fixed problems with KPT filters. You might check into that. My only other suggestion would be to try re-installing KPT5 if you haven't already.

Duncan

Upgrade to XP

Postby Duncan » Wed Mar 31, 2004 8:46 pm

I had this trouble and about dispared -- but it can be fixed. That said, I can't quite remember what I did... For starters, try setting the compatibility of older programs to the Windows 98 setting (find the program or its shortcut, go to "properties" tag, and then select the operating system the program was designed for). This often prevents crashes with art programs.

Now as for fixing the filters -- I can't for the life of me remember what I did. But I do know that it is fixable, and XP works like a charm on Corel PhotoPaint where before about half my filters were missing. So hang in their and keep searching for the answer because it is possible to do.

In the meantime, if you discover it, how about posting it here. Then, should I have to restall, I won't go nuts trying to re-invent the XP wheel. -Duncan


Return to “Photoshop-compatible Plugins”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests