Focalblade suggestion for post-sharpening regolations

FocalBlade specific discussions
szphoto
Plugin Novice
Plugin Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 12:59 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Focalblade suggestion for post-sharpening regolations

Postby szphoto » Wed Sep 09, 2009 1:12 pm

Hi all, my name's Stefano and I'm writing from Italy. It's the first time I write on this forum.
Now, I presume the workflow of Focalblade is:
1) Load in momory a copy of the layer I want to sharpen
2) Aplly on this "virtual" layer the mask
3) Apply on this "virtual" layer the sharpening
4) Blend the "virtual" layer on the layer I want to sharpen

This is a very powerful workflow, but it's have a cons. After applying sharpening, all games are done. I have not possibilitry to implement further regolations.
In manual workflow (Bruce Fraser workflow), instead, I have post-sharpening regolation possibilities: I can modify Sharpening layer opacity, I can blur the mask, I can apply level/curves on mask, ...

I'm wondering if it's not possible have such post-sharpening regolation also with Focalblade.
The solution could be this: Focalblade generate a sharpening layer and the Focalblade mask is applied as layer mask of this layer.
Do you think it's a possible evolution of Focalblade?

HaraldHeim
Plugin Guru
Plugin Guru
Posts: 3360
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 1:00 am
Location: The Plugin Site
Contact:

Postby HaraldHeim » Fri Sep 11, 2009 1:42 pm

You can already duplicate the image on a new layer before you apply FocalBlade to this new layer. So after you applied the sharpening with FocalBlade, you can change the opacity of the layer to reduce the sharpening. You can also add a layer mask to selectively remove the sharpening from certain image areas.

It is also possible to have the mask that FocalBlade internally uses as a layer mask. But that requires several extra steps and some adjustments within FocalBlade. So it is not so practical at the moment. But I can provide an small tutorial if you are insterested.

To apply other sharpening settings with FocalBlade you need to delete the mentioned sharpening layer, create a new one and sharpen again with FocalBlade. A future version of FocalBlade will offer support for smart filtering, so that you can change the FocalBlade settings anytime without any extra steps.

Another possible future option would be to let FocalBlade automatically save its mask to a layer mask. For that it would probably be necessary to create a layer with a layer mask before you apply FocalBlade. Thanks for remembering me of this idea! It is definitely something we will add.

szphoto
Plugin Novice
Plugin Novice
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 12:59 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Postby szphoto » Thu Sep 17, 2009 9:57 am


HaraldHeim
Plugin Guru
Plugin Guru
Posts: 3360
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 1:00 am
Location: The Plugin Site
Contact:

Postby HaraldHeim » Thu Sep 17, 2009 4:59 pm



Return to “FocalBlade”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests