Houston - we have a problem!

FocalBlade specific discussions
Zooey
Plugin Novice
Plugin Novice

Houston - we have a problem!

Post by Zooey »

Hello there! I'm looking for some advice on using FocalBlade. I'm not new to photography, but am fairly new to these new fangled gadgets. I own 2 film cameras, 26 and 66 years old respectively. I started scanning slides and negatives a couple of years ago on a flatbed, but the results were pretty bad - soft images and terrible artefacts. I'm now starting again with a Nikon Coolscan and Elements 3.0. My photographs have been received very well on the internet, so I don't have a problem with that. I'm no Photoshop expert, but I think I do fairly well with that too. What I can't manage is the sharpening, hence my latest purchase. I've spent the last couple of hours playing with everything and it looks like a powerful tool. Trouble is that I just can't see what I should be doing. For a start I suffer from stereo blindness in that my left eye is long sighted and my right eye is short sighted. I think that means that my brain ignores everything from my left eye. Glasses don't help when I'm looking at a monitor. I've spent ages looking at other sites. They show examples of good and bad sharpening, but to be honest I just can't tell the difference. I don't seem to be able to spot halos or noise at all. I can certainly see all the changes when I move the sliders in FB, but I don't know what's good or bad. Is there anyone who could suggest sharpening levels for one of my own images so I can understand what I should be aiming for? At the moment I'm scanning everything at 4,000dpi and my files are roughly 60 Meg. Many thanks in advance! :)

rsnow
Plugin Power User
Plugin Power User

Post by rsnow »